I’ve totally (WATERMELON) seen this before.

Earrings: Brasília’s Hippie fair; Dress: Renner; Watch: Brazilian artisan; Sandals: Aldo.

Would you like to know the most shocking secret in the world? I hate watermelon. Can’t stand it. Hate the stuff. I eat it annually, because the majority of people out there can’t understand why I wouldn’t like watermelon, particularly in the summer months. Due to other’s incredulity, I always feel that I must be open to the possibility of watermelon being delicious.

It hasn’t happened yet, but I keep trying.

My most recent watermelon eating experience.

The reason I share this with you is because of the title of this post. “Totally (watermelon),” similar to my “like (watermelon)” experiment of the last few years, is a word association training that helps you to stop using words you’ve become, like, TOTALLY addicted to. I went through a terrible “like” phase, and now I have it (I think) to a manageable level of usage. My father pointed out to me recently that I rely far too much on “totally.” So I’m trying to give it a watermelon rest.

It’s still hot in Winnipeg. Even though I’ve worn almost this exact outfit, on this exact blog before, this was the best outfit I’ve come up with for the heat thus far. Little sweaty, but nothing too major. I was stopped by a few people who complimented me on how striking the dress is (it’s a pretty striking dress), including this incredibly adorable older gentleman, who wanted to tell me not only how much he liked the dress, but also how his late wife would have really liked it, too. She liked stark and striking prints. He was also wearing the best hat I’ve seen in a long time.

It was great. I was nice and cool, and I felt stylish and pretty. First time since my return to Winnipeg that I’ve felt that way, actually. Kind of a nice feeling.

Heading to the lake this weekend. I’m very excited to float in the water, soak up the sun, relax and enjoy myself. Mostly, I’m excited that I won’t have to wear anything other than a bikini for three days. Who cares about sweat when you’re in a bikini? NOT ME.

Happy weekend!

 

 

4 thoughts on “I’ve totally (WATERMELON) seen this before.

  1. I can’t stand watermelon either! I think it’s just icky. Occasionally I will eat it, but only rarely. I do like it better than cantaloupe though, which is my #1 least favorite food EVER, and I’ll usually try/like most anything! Glad I’m not the only one on earth who isn’t a watermelon fan 🙂

Leave a Reply

