Fashion Flirting with Dark Alice

Headband: Mexx
Earrings: handmade
Dress and (reversed) jacket: Colcci 2001
Necklace: Hilary Druxman and Out of the Blue
Charm bracelet: gift from my mom
White stockings: Malabars
Red t-straps: Jump, from Town Shoes

This outfit was inspired by Alice in Wonderland (the dark and twisty teenaged years), the Ring Master under the Big Top, hoar frost and hidden surprises. I pulled on this dress in the morning, and instantly felt like a dark Alice with the puffy sleeves, the full skirt. The rest of the outfit came together like magic, a red satin headband, the missish, yet funky shoes. The anatomically correct heart pendant. The steampunk feel of my charm bracelet.

When I stepped outside, saw the frost, I knew I would need to venture father afield to find the spot I was craving for my shots. A short walk later, I found my way to a small park on the river, empty of everything but snow and frost covered trees. It was easy to pretend I’d fallen into Alice’s (winter) Wonderland, seeking the White Rabbit, about to stumble across the Mad Hatter (an incarnation of whom nearly ran me over on his bike as I walked home).

“It was much pleasanter at home, when one wasn’t always growing larger and smaller, and being ordered about by mice and rabbits.”

 

12 thoughts on “Fashion Flirting with Dark Alice

  1. I don’t know what’s my favorite thing about this post: the beautiful pictures? the lovely outfit? the snow? well, considering we’re all melting here at 35ΒΊC, I’d say it’s definitely the snow πŸ˜‰

    but really, this has been one of my favorite photoshoots here lately. you look stunning, and everything about it just rocks my world!

    um beijo :***

    • Brigada, Fer! I had a lot of fun taking the pictures here. Yesterday was really nice out!

      I remember those terrible days of humidity and heat and awful. It’ll pass soon, though! And then it’ll be your winter again! You should just really move to Canada already.

      BEIJOS!

  2. I love, love, love when outfits take on a life of their own– and this is a perfect example of that! This whole concept + outfit is absolutely fabulous, Becca!

Leave a Reply

