Fashion Flirting with (my first) Friend Friday

I dig this.  Friend Friday, hosted by Modly Chic, is a fairly nifty way of getting to know your fellow bloggers. Grand.

Also, little known fact about me: I love me some band wagons. If there’s a band wagon waiting to be jumped on, I’m going to jump on it, because I love jumping on band wagons. This band wagon is awesome. So, without further ado… Friend Friday Q&A:

1. The move to do away with soap, shampoo and deodorant has been
growing in popularity in the last year. What are your thoughts on this
trend?

I haven’t been using antiperspirant in years. I gave them up as an experiment, and haven’t really looked back since. I use, on rare occasion, salt-based, natural deodorants, such as the giant salt crystals that I always associate with the Priest who baptized me (because his was the first that I ever saw, way back in the late ’80s). I fully support giving up most antiperspirants, but am dubious when it comes to soap. I’m hung up on the feeling of a wicked rich lather, covering my body. Delicious, yes?

In any event, I know that when I am at my narliest dirty (after four day long music festivals where I forego shoes, for example), mechanical cleaning (with a natural loofah, for example) does a better job of getting the crap off me than just soap. I’ll go nuts on my toes with liquid or bar soap and there will be next to no difference, but I grab my pumice stone, and my tootsies are baby-clean.

2. Be honest how often do you wash your own hair?

I wash my hair no more than once per week. The gnarly thing is post-workout. My hair wasn’t dirty before I went for a run, and after it is just sweaty. After consulting with my hair stylist, post-workout I rinse my hair out and follow up with a light conditioner. I have very dry hair, and it really doesn’t need to be washed very often, so I don’t (this is largely rooted in laziness).

3. Have you tried to go the more natural route by forgoing shampoo?
What happened? Or would you be tempted to try it?

The longest I’ve gone without washing my hair and still having it look ok-ish was two weeks. My scalp wound up being really itchy, and I lost most of my volume, but it was fine. My hair didn’t smell weird (I actually use an oil to apply to dry hair to maintain moisture between conditioning and it smells like deliciousness), no one commented on it (well, other than me), and I styled it in the morning to touch up any strange kinks that may have developed in the night.

4. What products do you use and have you ever gone with more organic
alternatives?

I go with almost all natural products. I use an all natural, plant-based face cleanser designed to clean my (TMI ALERT! TMI ALERT!) Diva Cup, natural witch hazel and aloe as a toner, and generally don’t need to use a moisturizer (although if I do, I opt for a chemically intense day-cream with sun screen – I’ve yet to find an organic alternative that doesn’t feel like layering lard on my face). My liquid body wash is sulphate-free, made with natural, plant-based ingredients. MY moisturizer is scent-free, made in my city, with all natural ingredients. The only place where I don’t go for natural/organic is in my hair-care products, but I use most of them so rarely that it almost doesn’t make a difference. I do, however, use Aveda products more often than not, and the post-workout conditioner I use is made from natural ingredients.

5. What about that daily shower? Would you forgo that opting to shower
three times a week instead?

Um. Sometimes I do that, but it is mostly because I am lazy. Truthfully, I work out too often to not shower, but my showers are usually associated with my working out. When I don’t workout, I usually don’t shower that day. If I shower just for the sake of showering, I find my skin tends to get very dry. If I follow an awesome sweat-session with a shower, my skin feels soft and rejuvenated. I’m definitely not opposed to the idea of only showering 3 times per week, that’s for sure!

2 thoughts on “Fashion Flirting with (my first) Friend Friday

  1. As someone who puts next to no thought into how he bathes, I’m pretty surprised and impressed by this. I sometimes wish I had the dough to spend on somebody who could advise me on how to groom and dress.

    • Before I wrote this post (and the one on the make-up I use), I really thought my “beauty routine” was simple and low maintenance. Ha. From what I recall, the only time I don’t really care about how I bathe is when I’m sailing. And that’s just because the options on a boat are fairly limited.

      I like to feel smooth and soft, so I spend time investigating what helps me to feel that way. I do it because it makes me feel good, so I’m willing to put more effort in. Anyways, no one needs dough to get people to tell them how to groom and dress. It just takes a tiny bit of effort. There must be a blog about it. Or, if you can handle the content, men’s health magazines probably have tips somewhere within (I have no idea, though. My experience with men’s mags are fairly limited).

Leave a Reply

