Fashion Flirting with Making Up (is hard to dooooo)

Following up on yesterday’s post about my skincare routine, I shall endeavor to list the products I use regularly to make myself look made-up.

Laying the Foundation:

MAC Cosmetics Studio Fix Fluid SPF 15.

I don’t really need to wear foundation unless I have a really fancy event that I want to look airbrushed for.  This gives me just the right amount of coverage without making me look like I’ve painted on a layer of colour.

MAC Cosmetics Studio Finish SPF 35 Concealer.

While I don’t often need to use concealer, this is the product I will use when I do. I also used this same concealer when I was heavily acne prone, and have found that of all the different kinds of concealer I have used over the years, this one is the best for covering blemishes.

Recently, I received a tip by a make-up artist on the best way to blend concealer. I apply using a concealer brush, and then blend it in using an eyeshadow brush. Whatever you do, don’t try and spread it around with your finger – if you must apply using your finger, however, pat the concealer with one finger to blend it. It will mimic the effect of using a rounded eyeshadow brush for blending.

MAC Cosmetics Mineralize Skinfinish Natural.

Oh my, this powder makes my skin feel like silk. I’ll use this on its own, to set foundation/concealer. Alone it helps to give a tiny bit of coverage, but the feeling of this powder dusted on my skin really is indescribably smooth – incredibly luxurious.

Colour colour, gimme colour:

Maybelline Dream Mousse Bronzer.

I use this bronzer for EVERYTHING. I’ll use it as an eyeshadow, as a bronzer, as a contouring device… It is my go-to product. I love how it feels on my skin, and I love how easy it is to make the colour more or less intense.

Tarte Eyeshadow Palette for Smoky Eyes.

Seemingly, this palette is no longer available (the danger with all eyeshadow palettes), the one linked above is the closest to what I have. It has two different colour combinations within the palette, one for a green based smoky eye, the other a dark purple smoky eye. I don’t always go the smoky eye route, but I’ve used every single colour in the palette for one reason or another.

Maybelline Colossal Volum’ Express Mascara.

I love this mascara. I don’t really have all that much to say about it other than I love it. Big, fanned out, blackest black eye lashes. Awesome.

Getting Lippy:

I don’t wear lipstick. Recently, I won a non-sticky Vapour Organics Lip Plumping Gloss in plum from Elizabeth at Beauty Bets that I can’t wait to try when it arrives (also, Beauty Bets is an awesome read on all things beauty related). However, there are a few things I use daily.

Smith’s Lip Balm Minted Rose.

This lip balm is delightful. The rose oil is silky smooth, and the mint makes my lips tingle. It leaves a lasting shine to my lips that somehow enhances the natural colour to my lips. It is my favorite balm.

Blistex Lip Medex.

For when I can’t afford to mess around (ei: when my lips are so dry they are cracked and bleeding, which happens to me about once every two weeks or so), I switch from the Minted Rose to Lip Medex. I try not to use it too often, because if you only use Lip Medex, you run the risk of not being able to use anything else to keep your lips soft and moisturized. This pot of delicious moisture also makes your lips tingle – and if you kiss someone right after you apply it, it makes their lips tingle, too!

Part three? Tomorrow. Content? Brushes.

Leave a Reply

