Fashion Flirting with Bandwagons

Sally at Already Pretty posted about her beauty products today, and Kendi at Kendi Everyday blogged about what is in her makeup bag a few days ago.  I enjoy finding out what people use to keep their skin cleansed and decorated and healthy, so I wanted to share my “I can’t live without” skin care and beauty products over the next few days. I currently have very dry, very sensitive, very delicate skin due to Accutane use, and have needed to change my skin-care routine dramatically as a result.

Cleansing:

I use one of two products for cleansing depending on whether I am washing my face in the shower or at the sink (just because I am lazy and don’t want to reach around the shower curtain to grab the product sitting at the sink or in the shower).

In the shower:
Lise Watier: Very Soothing Cleansing Creme.

This cream cleanser literally caresses my skin.  I massage the cleanser into my skin, and give myself a daily facial massage.  It also has a really delicate scent that I love.

At the sink:
The DivaWash.

This soap is designed specifically to wash the Diva Cup.  As the soap is developed to clean something that spends quite a lot of time in your va-jay-jay, it is gentle enough to use on sensitive skin.  The scent is delicious, and it is über concentrated, so you hardly have to use any at all to get a nice lather on your face.  It rinses cleanly, and never dries out my skin.

Toning:

I use two different toners depending upon which cleanser I use.

Lise Watier Very Soothing Milky Lotion.

Obviously, I use the Lise Watier toner after I use my Lise Watier cleanser.  The liquid is super milky, and as I apply it, I feel like the toner is not only toning, but also infusing my skin with moisture.  Also, it smells delicious.

Thayers Alcohol-free Unscented Witch Hazel with Aloe Vera.

Witch Hazel has fantastic natural properties.  It cleanses, moisturizes, soothes.  I’ll use this after using the DivaWash, and it leaves just the right amount of moisture on my skin that I don’t need to use a moisturizer afterwards.  This is the best for right before going to bed for me.

Moisturizing:

Lise Watier Hydra-City SPF 15.

My daily moisturizer.  It is lightweight enough that I never feel sticky or shiny, but just enough that my skin feels a little dewey and soft.

Scape SPF 50 Sunblock Cream and Scape SPF 50 Face Stick.

Victoria Potter, over at Demi Couture, wrote a review of the Scape sunblock it took me about ten seconds to decide that I had to try out this product. It is, hands down, the best sunscreen I have ever used.  I wore it every day in Vegas and despite sweating like a pig in the 40+ C weather, I didn’t suffer from a single burn, and only needed to apply once per day.  The sunblock is designed by athletes for athletes.  I have never worried about skin protection when I wear it.  Worry-free!

Part two of this bandwagon post will follow tomorrow. Cosmetics!

Leave a Reply

