Fashion Flirting with Dress-up time

Earrings: Gift from my Aunt
Ring: Topaz ring designed by my mom for me
Bracelet: Desart, Matsu design
Dress: Thrifted, Ann Taylor Loft
Belt: Out of the Blue, Candies
Shoes: Town Shoes, Jump

Today I spent most of my day applying for jobs, revamping my resume, working on the world’s most amazingest cover letter.  I believe that my comfort in using words like “amazingest” is why I am going to get my dream job.  Not that I applied for anything that looked like my dream job, but who knows.  Someone might read my resume and realize that I would be the perfect fit for my imaginary dream job.

And to be perfectly clear, I don’t know what my dream job is.  No idea.  But it is out there, and I’m going to find it.

I decided to dress as though I was going to work at my dream job.  And I think I did well, except for the moderately irritating fact that this belt is too big for me to really wear at my natural waist.  Thankfully, this dress has belt loops that keep the belt at my natural waist, even if it doesn’t do much to cinch the dress in.  I’ll make an extra hole in the belt eventually with a hammer and nail and random piece of wood.

This is the first time I’ve worn these shoes on this blog.  I love them.  The last time I wore them was last year on Hallowe’en when I dressed up as a lost Christmas elf, and I wandered around asking everyone if they had seen Santa, wishing everyone a Merry Christmas and confessing in confusion that I suspected I was lost.  I even developed a “Christmas Elf Walk,” carried around a basket of candy and stayed in character for my entire 8 hour shift at work.

Apparently, these are my character shoes, as today I’m pretending to be a professional!

4 thoughts on “Fashion Flirting with Dress-up time

  1. Hi Becca!
    That is so funny! My first thought when I saw your picture was, “wow, she’s so conservative today”. (Opposed to other days, cuz, yes, I check out your blog often).
    Good luck on the dream job search. If you find it, can you see if my dream job is its neighbor?
    Happy Weekend
    p.s. I like you as an elf, lost or not.

    • That elf costume was awesome, especially because it was so unexpected. Who thinks Christmas at Hallowe’en?

      And thanks you! I will keep an eye open for your dream job for sure!

Leave a Reply

