Fashion Flirting with Wedding Hair

Ah, weddings.

Me, Flurina and Nina (The Bride!) at the salon getting ready for the nuptials.

One of my BFFs married my first Brazilian friend yesterday.  As I mentioned in a previous post, lots of international folk came into Brasília for the wedding.  Flurina is in from Switzerland with her man, Mouni is here from London with HER man, etc.

The Bride, the sister of the bride and the mother of the bride.

The wedding turned out to be something like a high school reunion.  It was awesome.  Tons of people I haven’t seen in years, and had no idea what they were up to.

We drank, danced, laughed and busted out some Spice Girls choreography.  It was an amazing good time.  When I got home, I was too tired (ahem – drunk) to bother taking any of the pins out of my hair.  When I woke up, my hair didn’t look too bad, so I left it.

While attempting to recover, we were informed by a friend that a friend of our family passed away last night.  In Brazil the funeral process moves very quickly from death to burial.  She was buried this afternoon, and we went to the funeral to pay our respects.  It was very difficult.  We went to her wedding.  We were a part of her life.  And it was a life very well lived.  I’m focusing on that.

Moving on to happier thoughts, I bought new shoes today.  And wore a dress that makes me happy.  And took wonderful medication that made my champagne headache simply disappear.

Earrings: P’lover in Halifax
Dress: Feira da Lua in Brasília
Bracelet: Desart in Winnipeg
Shoes: Hippie Fair in Brasília (this afternoon)

Aren’t the shoes wonderful?  Isn’t that dress fabulous?

I go to the Hippie Fair every year my last or second last weekend in the city.  It is where you can buy all sorts of artisan goods, clothing, jewelery, shoes, leather works, art, furniture…  Incredible work.  We walked by this one stand, and I saw these flat gladiators and knew they had to come home with me.  There was NO WAY I was leaving without them.  The only pair he had in my size was this wonderful nude leather colour, and I adore them.  They are so comfortable, it blows my mind.  The guy who was selling them gave me a discount (yay!), and makes them himself.  I love buying things from the people who have actually made them.  He does custom work, too and it takes him a day to finish the work, so I might order another pair in a fun dyed leather colour.  INCREDIBLY comfortable.  Unreal.

This dress I bought one of my first weekends in town.  It is made of cotton, so perfect for hot weather.  The detail in the back and the fun puffy sleeves made me fall in love with the dress the moment I saw it.  And there are POCKETS.  And the hem is fantastic.  Did I mention there are pockets?  I love pockets on a dress.  I think it might be a fashion blogger thing.  Every fashion blogger I know is obsessed with dress-pockets.

This was the first time I’ve worn it.  I’m full of love for this dress.

Can you tell?

In other, completely unrelated news, today was also the let down final of the World Cup.  Holland against Spain.  Spain won.  I’m pleased that Holland didn’t take it, because I wanted them to suffer for beating Brazil.  Heh.  Also, Spain has been the most boring team of the Cup, and this has been the most boring Cup of all World Cups.  It is fitting that the most boring team won this, the most boring Cup.

Four more years, one more World Cup.  Can’t wait, because next time, it will be in BRAZIL!

2 thoughts on “Fashion Flirting with Wedding Hair

Leave a Reply

