Fashion Flirting with Issuing a Challenge

A friend of mine who works at lululemon athletica in the Online Community department put a BHAG out there in the world.  BHAG stands for a Big Hairy Audacious Goal.  A BHAG is a goal that gives you chills.  Makes you a little sick to your stomach.  For example, one of my BHAGs is to complete Ironman in August.


Shawna, from lululemon, posting her BHAG.  Image: lululemon athletica

“I have been featured in a sports bra on lululemon.com by July 1st.”

It got my noggin’ to thinking about BHAGs, and things you’ve always wanted to do but never have…  All that fun stuff.  I was inspired by Shawna’s goal, and on July 1st,  I’ve decided to go for a run in my sports bra, no tank top, as a celebration of her BHAG.

I’ve NEVER gone for a run in just a sports bra.  I’ve always gone for a run with some kind of a top covering me up.  To be honest, I’ve always wanted to ditch the shirt, but it has always scared the crap right out of me.

So I never did.

The challenge I am issuing to everyone?

On July 1st do something that scares the crap right out of you.  Something you’ve always wanted to do, but were always too afraid to do it.  Go skydiving, go to your first yoga class, wear a pair of short shorts, wear brown and black together, ask out that guy you always see at the coffee shop, deliver feedback to a coworker…  It doesn’t matter what it is that you choose, but once you get into the habit of doing the things that scare you the most you realize that they aren’t actually scary at all.

If you decide to do it, blog about it.  Let me know what you’ve done, and I’ll write a summary post about everyone’s scary achievement.

8 thoughts on “Fashion Flirting with Issuing a Challenge

  1. I LOVE this. I’m already writing a list of my own BHAGs to choose from 🙂 honestly? If I can come up with enough, I think it’s a great way to start every new month, with something ‘scary’! Thanks for being so inspiring, lady!

    • Yay! Thanks for linking to me, too. I can’t wait to read your blogs at the beginning of each month! I might follow in your footsteps and start each month the same way.

      🙂

  2. i know from experience that this is a really really good idea! and a great challenge!

    the most important part is to do something that scares YOU – not your mom, or your best friend, or your co-workers….it’s an excellent way to get to know parts of yourselves we generally try to ignore.

    now to choose WHICH scary thing……

    • I completely agree. It has to be something you find significant, a fear that is holding YOU back in some way.

      I try and remember to not let fear rule my life, but sometimes I need to do something consciously.

  3. I like the idea, but I can’t remember anything I’m too scared to do. maybe it scares me so much that I’ve blocked it completely from my mind 😀

Leave a Reply

