Fashion Flirting with a Knit Beret

Ah, Friday.  Even though I’m not working, I still hold Friday very dear to my heart.  I think it has to do with the energy of the people around me.  It’s wonderful, to feel their relaxation.

When I headed to the pool this morning, I pulled on my knit beret and an old shirt of my father’s (as well as a pair of lululemon crops).  I wound up wearing the beret for the rest of the day.  Unplanned, I might add.  I was going to try to recreate Wednesday night’s hair.

Shirt: Stolen from Dad’s closet.  NO IDEA where it is from.

Swimming was tough today.  Gilson, the dreamy speedo-wearing swimming coach, had me work even more on my technique, specifically to increase the reach of my stroke, and to become more efficient while breathing.  This worked my arms like crazy, and now they hurt a little bit.  Good hurt.

I’ve determined the worst fitness crime of all time.  Instructors who don’t care about the music they play should be slapped upside the back of the head.  I will be doing so to the hidro-ginastica instructor on Monday morning.  But the slap will be a CD with different tracks.  Three hour-long classes of the same 15 songs.  So. Mind numbingly. Boring.

Day look:

Knit Beret: Out of the Blue (Winnipeg)
Tee Shirt: Lenny (Brasília, Borrowed from Mother’s Closet)
Camisole: Victoria Secret (New York)
Belt: Shoulder (Brasília, Borrowed from Mother’s Closet)
Jeans: Mercearia (Brasília, Gifted from Mother’s Closet)
Shoes: Geox (Winnipeg)
Purse: La Belle, Vintage (Montreal, Borrowed from Mother’s Closet)
Jewelery (ring and large link bracelet): Francesca Romana (São Paulo, Gifted from Mother’s Closet)

My favorite thing about being in Brazil is how little I look like, act like or dress like a Brazilian.  Despite the fact that I am wearing a majority of Brazilian labels, the way I style my outfits aren’t Brazilian at all.  Brazilian style isn’t definable, but it is always identifiable.  I don’t fit in.

As I walk through the streets of Brasília, I get many a strange look.  It’s good fun.

Night look:

Bolero (actually a tunic, altered by me, as can be seen in the 2nd pic): a little shop in Praia do Forte, a Brazilian beach town (Borrowed from Mother’s Closet)
Tee: Aritzia (Winnipeg … the Lenny top wasn’t doing very much for me)
Bangels: Jewelery kiosk in Patio Brasil (Brasília, Borrowed from Mother’s Closet)
Belt: Shoulder (Brasília, Gifted from Mother’s Closet)

We’re off to eat food at my all time favorite Brasíliense restaurant.  The food is simply delicious, we’ve been going there for years, and know the family who run the restaurant.  I can’t wait to get to see them again.  The restaurant is in an artisan/food collective called the Quitoarche.  On weekends there is always live music, and festive folk getting their eat and drink on.

Sad news – no racing tomorrow.  Instead, we’re going to be preparing for Mom’s birthday party instead!  Much fun.  Also on my to do list is to buy a new hat.  I’m hat-obsessed right now.  Can’t get enough of them, and I only brought one with me.

Silly rabbit.

And now for some shots of buildings around the city of Brasília.

The second building might be the most iconic building in Brasília… When it comes to the skyline.  Lots of other iconic buildings around town.  This city… the arquitecture will amaze you.

4 thoughts on “Fashion Flirting with a Knit Beret

    • Brazil is such a great spot. I lived here for 2 years when I was young, and the parentals have been here for 14. Best vacation spot of all time!

      And the closet? Oh, it is wonderful place. Willy Wonka’s chocolate factory kind of wonderful.

    • Ainda melhor. E eu ADORO seu estilo. I always feel I stick out like a sore thumb. I’m not even close to any kind of Brazilian body type, my hair is different, and I’m über pale (well, I was until I got my sunburn, lol). It doesn’t bother me, though.

      You would think that Brasilienses would be less shocked by a big white North American considering that this is the capital, and Embassy row is across the street from our apartment!

Leave a Reply

