Disappearing Fashion Flirt

Friday was a wonderful day. Yes, yes- Friday last week. I woke up, checked the weather, noticed it was sunny but chilly, and pulled on whatever was closest to me as I rolled out of bed (I am sufficiently a computer dweeb that I go to bed with my laptop…) and stumbled out the door for coffee.

Arriving at my Starbucks (and it actually is my Starbucks, as I am the Foursquare Mayor of that location), I joined some friends on the patio for a few hours in the sunlight. It was awesome.

Hat: Bula
Sunglasses: From a street vendor in NYC
Hoodie: Remix lulu hoodie from lululemon athletica in Heathered Bruise
Tank Top 1: Cool Racerback from lululemon athletica in Antidote (my favorite lululemon colour)
Tank Top 2: Cool Racerback from lululemon athletica in Raspberry
Jeans: Jacob
Shoes: Emu slippers

I love that hat.  I don’t even think I can put into words how much I love that hat.  I bought it after a breakup- a breakup I was struggling with.  When I saw the hat, the pom pom on top made me smile.  I almost bought two (one in bright blue), but realized that I only needed the one- how many wool hats with a large pom pom on top does a girl need, after all?  It turns out, the one did me just fine, but if I ever found another, I’d buy it in a second.

I try not to wear my Emu slippers in public very often.  They are hideous, but they have become an important wardrobe staple for specific occasions.  I bought them to wear to the Winnipeg Folk Festival last summer.  They made my festival experience.  The difference between the hot weather during the day to the freezing temperatures once the sun goes down has been something I’ve always struggled with.  I like bare feet during the day (like the good little music festival hippie that I am), and since the slippers were pretty cheap, I didn’t care if the inside became encrusted with crap.

Following Folk Fest, I stopped wearing them until my next music festival- the Harvest Moon Festival.  And then I realized that when I would go to the gym three times a week for 6am, they were the perfect to-and-from shoe for the gym.  This was the first time I’ve worn them so far in 2010.

After my morning in the sun, I went home, did some work, went for a run, and then went on a nice, long date.  I was running behind getting ready for the date, so I didn’t have the chance to take a picture of what I was wearing (but I really liked it, I’ll have you know).  While on said date, I suffered an injury to my right foot, and spiralled into a stupid injury related depression.  No more pictures- and really no more efforts with what I wore.  Until today!

Headwrap: BUFF
Sunglasses: Out of the Blue
Earrings: Made by Kalina from Mexico
Necklace: heart pendant: Out of the Blue; Bathchain: Silver Lotus
Sweater: Gap
Tank: Anise Tank from lululemon athletica in Hydrangea
Tights: Wunder Under Tights from lululemon athletica in Heathered Bue
Bag: Parachute Tote from lululemon athletica in Neon Purple
Sandals: Aldo

It has definitely been a while since I’ve worn my Wunder Unders out and about- mostly because I’ve been feeling kind of crappy about my body lately (spent most of February and March recovering from illness after illness, and didn’t change my diet to acount for the serious lack of physical activity… an expanding waistline was the result of this).  Finally, I realized that I had to get over my stupid body-related annoyance, and just go back to eating the way I used to eat, and exercising regularly.  Thankfully, with some sport tape, today I will be going back to running up a storm, and will make my way to the gym this evening to get my weight lifting on.

Also- happy Earth Day.  This is not why I am wearing green.  Largely, Earth Day isn’t something I’ve bothered paying much attention to.  Mostly because I try to live every day as though it is Earth Day.  For those who celebrate today, I wish you a wonderful day full of Earth-love.  I leave you with the lyrics from a song that my class wrote in grade 3 at École Robert Browning School for Earth Day, to the tune of “Everything I Do (I do it for you).”

“Everything I do, I do it for the Earth” – although because I was in French Immersion, it was actually: “Tout ce que je fais, je fais pour la terre.”

Leave a Reply

